Sunshine Award

Thank you for the nomination by Ninety’s Blog! Proud moment, as it is the first time I have been nominated for any blogging awards.

Do you see trends in the anime blogging community? For example less or more blogs, certain topics etc.

sunshine-award-logo

Trends are definitely developing in the anime blogging world. Popular streaming services such as Netflix, and Hulu, combined with the resurgence of Toonami has been bringing a new found interest in anime. Interest that has culminated into many new anime blogs and vlogs being created. As for topics, it generally revolves around what is airing at the time. This season, I have found a significant increase in bloggers posting about My Teen Romantic Comedy Snafu TOO. With some of my favorite anibloggers creating multiple essays for the show.

How has your view on anime changed over the course of time?

Through my early teen years I was fond of the Shounen and Harem genres with Naruto and Ichigo 100% being my favorites. Vastly different than what I consider quality anime nowadays. The primary change on my view of anime is how I engage with it. In the past, watching anime was merely entertainment. I mindlessly consumed hours of content without attempting to derive any meaning out of what I was watching. It’s only after I watched Neon Genesis Evangelion did I change my perspective on media. Evangelion was so poignant, I couldn’t ignore the message it was conveying. Exposed to thought inducing media, I craved more. My changing tastes in anime just followed along with how I interacted with all of my media. Instead of Naruto and Ichigo 100% I found pleasure in Ghost in the Shell and Mushishi.

What is your favorite type of blog? Episodic, reviews, or a mix of anime and other media?

My favorite type of blog posts revolve around analysis of media. Whether that will be the analysis of video games, anime, or any other narratives, I love the new insights they bring. Analysis allows me to enjoy media far past its conclusion, and shapes who I am. Granting me greater empathy for others, and a better understanding of myself. Realizations that I hope to share with my viewers once I find the words that properly explain my thoughts. I also enjoy other things such as episodics and reviews as long as they raise intriguing ideas or are just plain funny.

How leading are opinions of others bloggers in your choice of anime or manga?

Other bloggers are a large influence in my choice of anime outside of seasonal shows. Reading positive opinions on anime I haven’t seen,  motivates me to watch the show. I try to confirm similar taste with the bloggers by reviewing their opinions on shows I have seen though. For seasonal anime I tend to watch the preview and pick up anything that interests me. I also ask a small group of friends on their thoughts of currently airing anime.

If you’re using MyAnimeList, what changes would you bring to the website?

I have been an avid user of MyAnimeList and my profile can be found here. A pet peeve I have about MyAnimeList is that it allows users to rate or review an anime without even watching at least one episode. I recognize it is up to the user to be honest since anyone can say he has watched an episode, but it annoys me when the show hasn’t aired yet.  MyAnimeList also needs to improve the interface of the phone app they are currently using. It occasionally doesn’t work, and is difficult to use when it does.

Official Rules of the Sunshine Award

If you have been nominated for The Sunshine Award and you choose to accept it, write a blog post about the Sunshine award in which you:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate a few other bloggers.
  • Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you nominated.
  • Notify the bloggers on their blog.
  • Put the award button on your blog.

My Questions

  1. What aspects of anime do you enjoy that other forms of storytelling lack?
  2. Do you believe that the quality of anime is declining?
  3. What is your favorite character archetype, and why?
  4. Do you own any anime merchandise? If you do, which is your favorite?
  5. Choose between creating an anime, video game, or writing a book. What genre would it be and why?

My Nominees

8 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

  1. Thank you for tagging me, I can’t wait to do this! I loved reading your answers, too–I also find other bloggers to be influential in the choices of anime I watch, though only when I’m sure we agree on several of my favorites! XD I might steal a couple of those questions too for fun!

    Like

  2. Ah thank you for nominating me! I will do this in a few days or this weekend by the latest as I have post I have in mind to post these few days. =)

    I read your answers and I also find that many good reviews on an anime will push me to watch it. Even if it’s not of my genre. Because of that I now find myself reading and watching a wide range of anime and manga and they’re great!

    Like

  3. 1. The visual style I guess? From a storytelling point of view most animes would work just as well as a book, comic or live action show.

    2. Seems about the same especially as these days there’s a vast selection of stuff to choose from.

    3. Tsunderes and shy quiet characters. I can relate to people who struggle to express their real feelings.

    4. My Figma figurines.

    5. A strategy RPG. They are my fave type of video game and I imagine they would be easier to design than an action game.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

