Thoughts on Summer Season Part 3

Make sure to check out Part 1 and Part 2 where I cover the running anime series that are going to be shown during the summer season. Part 3 will be about the movies that will be released and the OVAs. I will be skipping by the anime shorts because I generally never watch any of them.

Cencoroll 2

Aniplex

Yuki.(Cencoroll).full.759370

Have never even heard of Cencoroll 1 before so I had some googling to do. After researching I found that Cencoroll is a science fiction show based off of a one shot manga created by Atsuya Uki. The author also was the primary director in charge of Cencoroll’s animation which is generally a good sign. I checked out the trailer for Cencoroll 2 and though it didn’t show much I still liked what I saw. I am glad they are making a sequel because now I am going to check out the first movie and probably watch this. Usually I pick up a lot more movies rather than series because they are low commitment and generally are of a higher quality.


Ghost in the Shell : Arise – Border: 3

Producion I.G.

gitsarise

I absolutely love the Ghost in the Shell franchise, but have not been that impressed by the Arise series. I have only seen the first movie, Ghost Pain, and have yet to have time to watch the second, Ghost Whisper. But I have seen the 9 Minute PV which showcased the first 9 minutes of the movie of the third movie. I still appreciate the Arise series of Ghost in the Shell, but I have a few major qualms with it. First is the music which is incomparable in class to the tracks by Yoko Kanno. The second are the voice actors. Since I really enjoy Ghost in the Shell the changed voice actors really mess with me, though for those who have not seen Arise’s origin will have no problem. Other than these problems I enjoy Arise quite a bit especially getting to see a younger Motoko. I recommend those who have not seen Ghost in the Shell to watch the original movie and the 2 seasons of Stand Alone Complex first. Then if you are still hungry for more Ghost in the Shell, watch the Arise movies.


Pokemon XY : Hakai no Mayu to Diancie

TV Tokyo

pokemon

Another Pokemon movie. I don’t even know the name of most of the Pokemon anymore which kind of makes me sad. I only enjoy Pokemon through the nostalgia factor so when watching newer movies I do not enjoy it as much. Pokemon : Origins was awesome though, it was just like the video games I played since I was a child. Watch it if you like the latest generations of Pokemon, if not then I wouldn’t watch it.


Stand By Me Doraemon

Shin-Ei Animation

doraemon

For those not familiar with the franchise, Doraemon is a children’s show popular in Japan about a time traveling robotic cat named after the title. Doraemon is mostly a comedy show that provides lessons on core values such as honesty and perseverance. This particular movie is a 3D rendition and is animated differently than the rest of the series. Personally I have not watched much of this franchise, but I heard from a few Japanese natives that this encompassed their childhoods much like a show like Sesame street for Americans. If you are interested in Japanese culture and values or maybe want to see how Japanese children’s shows turn out perhaps check it out?


Uchuu Kyoudai #0

A-1 Pictures

Uchuu-Kyoudai-anime

I have always wanted to watch Uchuu Kyoudai but because of its length at 99 episodes I always refrained from it. I am hoping that when I watch this movie that is a prequel to the Uchuu Kyoudai series I will be spurred to start watching it as I have heard many good things about the show. The trailer’s music is awesome and it looks fun.


Ano Natsu de Matteru OVA

TBA

Ano.Natsu.de.Matteru.full.918316

This episode is to be included in the Blu-Ray box set of the original Ano Natsu de Matteru. Generally episodes released in this fashion carry no importance to the plot and are added just to have a little fun on the side. Due to the lack of impact these episodes have on the series the quality of the episode is lower than the rest of the series and I am not expecting much out of it.


Girls und Panzer Kore ga Hontou no Anzio-sen Desu!

Actas

Girls und Panzer Kore ga Hontou no Anzio-sen Desu!

I have never seen Girls Und Panzer, but from what I gather this OVA episode would cover one of the battles not covered in the original series. I am not going to judge this series as I have not seen it so I will just say watch it if you liked the original but I wouldn’t watch it unless you saw the original in the first place.


Hayate no Gotoku! OVA

TBA

Hayate_no_Gotoku!!_ova_thread

Back in my more juvenile days I used to read quite a bit of this manga and enjoyed it a lot. Yes it was another harem, but I thought the comedy was played off a bit better and my favorite character was actually the main protagonist who was male. Though I do not follow the series anymore it was fun when I watched it.


Medamayaki no Kimi Itsu Tsubusu?

Fanworks

Medamayaki-no-Kimi-Itsu-Tsubus-Image-1

Based off a manga about gourmet food, the main character Jirou Tamiyamaru takes his food more seriously than others. A 4 episode comedy with an interesting art style that you usually don’t encounter in anime. Maybe worth a pick up but it all depends on the quality of the humor and what makes you laugh. I will probably read the manga before checking out this OVA.


Mujaki no Rakuen

TBA

Mujaki no Rakuen

So just to let everyone know if they didn’t already this show is pretty much going to be soft core hentai scenes. I feel like that’s all I need to say about it.


Non Non Biyori OVA

Media Factory

Non Non Biyori OVA

Cute girls doing cute things round two? Even the synopsis of the original show hints at them doing nothing in particular.

Elementary school student Hotaru Ichijou has moved with her parents from Tokyo to the middle of the country. Now she must adapt to her new school, where there are a total of 5 students in the same class who range through elementary and middle school ages. Join their everyday adventures in the countryside.

Just everyday adventures in the countryside. I haven’t seen the original but I expect the OVAs to be more of the same.


Saikin Imouto no Youso ga Chotto Okashiinda ga. OVA

TBA

[Moesubs]_ImoCho_-_Recently,_My_Sister_is_Unusual_-_02

I feel like this explains enough about the show that I do not even need to talk about it.


Tamayura : More Aggressive OVA

TYO Animations

tamayura_s2_03

The OVA shows the events of Tamayura between episodes 8 and 9. It shouldn’t contain anything relevant to the plot and many cute girl fan service shots will be expected. I feel like I should say more about these past few OVAs but they are quite self explanatory in whether you will like them or not.


5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Summer Season Part 3

  1. Oh I used to know every single one and names of the original older version of pokemon. It was my childhood anime. Ahaha but I don’t like the newer one. Makes me feel like it got ruined.

    Like

Leave a Reply

