Thoughts on Summer Season Part 2

Quick link to Part 1 if you missed it as I covered the T.V. series of anime in alphabetical order from Akame ga Kill! to Love Stage!!. I realize now that for some reason anime studios love putting exclamation marks as part of the titles of anime. Its is not just Free. its FREE!@!#. Anyways, onto the next section which will cover the rest of the T.V. series, again alphabetically.

Majimoji Rurumo

J.C. Staff

Majimoji Rurumo

Shibaki is a high-school boy whose only interest is girls. Except he’s been branded as the most hentai boy at school and the girls avoid him like the plague. One day he finds a book in the library about how to summon witches. He tries it as a joke, but it turns out to be the real thing. An apprentice witch named Rurumo appears to grant him a wish. Shibaki helps Rurumo and she in return refuses to take his soul. (This part of this story happened before the start of chapter1) When the story starts, Shibaki wishes he could see Rurumo again. His wishes is granted immediately as Rurumo falls from the sky and crash lands in front of him. He finds out that as punishment for not taking his soul she’s been busted down to an apprentice demon. Now, she must complete the task of getting Shibaki to use up 666 magic tickets that grant wishes before she can become a witch again. However, what she doesn’t know is that each time he uses a ticket it shortens his life. When the last ticket is used up, Shibaki will die. Shibaki knows this because Rurumo’s familiar black cat Chiro tell him as part of the “contract” for giving him the tickets. Now, Shibaki has a choice, make a wish and help Rurumo become a witch again or resist the temptation and try to save his own life.

Get ready for a lot of loli witch fanservice is what I am getting from this synopsis. Perverted boy with 666 magic tickets that can grant wishes. This will definitely include perverted and crude humor with overuse of bloody nose joke. I personally do not enjoy this type of comedy that much anymore and the art style doesn’t suit me so I will not be watching any of it, but its the kind of style that will always draw a fan base and entertain someone.


Minarai Diva

TBA

Minarai-Diva

Whats with this season and the past season and Loli characters? Spring season had Black Bullet, No Game No Life, and Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?. Now we have this and Majimojo Rurumo just in the beginning of this section alone. Diva/Idol show plus super loli art style? Count me out on this one. Perhaps the music would be good, since apparently they have a unique brand.


Momo Kyun Sword

TBA

Momo-Kyun-Sword-visual-art

The new tits and action show called Seikrei. Oh wait wrong name I mean Momo Kyun Sword. Well if you did not like the loli fan service of the two earlier shows perhaps you want an upgrade in size. Another show that will undoubtedly contain a large amount of fan service. Perhaps the action might be good if it wasn’t constantly interrupted by panty shots and suggestive clothing or lack thereof. If you couldn’t tell I really hate shows of this type and will not be watching any of it ever.


Nobunaga Concerto

TBA

nobunaga_concerto_en_anime_cet_ete_1914

The story centers around Saburou, a high school boy who time-travels to Japan’s Sengoku Era. He must become Nobunaga Oda, the famed warlord who helps unite Japan.

Somewhat interesting synopsis but it involves time travel which is always hard to pull off. The best anime with time travel for me is Steins;Gate and even then it had quite a few plot holes. I will keep my hopes up for this one and watch a couple episodes. Maybe it will be the Ping Pong of the Spring season and surprise us all. At least it has an interesting art style that few are using nowadays.


Persona 4 Golden Animation

A-1 Pictures

Persona-4-Golden-Game-Wallpaper-HD

Adaptation of Persona 4 expansion The Golden. I watched the Persona 4 Animation and honestly I was not impressed by it. A lot of the themes were interesting and the bear jokes were fun but overall it just was not that entertaining. I would usually leave it at that and not watch this retelling of the game + expansion, but a good friend of mine is a huge Persona fan boy. So he and I will be watching it together and hopefully A-1 Pictures will fix the flaws of the previous show.


Psycho-Pass New Edit Version

TBA

psycho-pass

Re-telling of Psycho-Pass with the show split into 1 hour episodes and a few new scenes. I will definitely watch it to find out what happens in the new scenes and to prepare myself for Psycho-Pass 2. If you haven’t seen the original I still recommend you watch it as it is an excellent show written by Gen Urobuchi. Especially if you enjoy Dystopian literature like Brave New World by Aldous Huxley or 1984 by George Orwell. It raises questions of morality, and in their society the Majority is saved by sacrificing the minority. A recurring problem in Gen Urobuchi’s works.


Rail Wars!

Passione

railwars

The first couple of shows didn’t have a trailer so I was happy to find this one did. Nothing particularly stood out to me in the trailer but I do like how its an alternate reality of Japan where there is just one small change. Railways in Japan were not privatized. According to MyAnimeList this show is under Action so I do not know how the action will turn out but I am excited to find out. From the look of the girls in this show there will probably be some unnecessary sexual tension and fan service between the main character and his female coworkers. I want to see it turn out well and to enjoy it, but if it doesn’t catch me within the first few episodes I will have to drop it.

 

Re: Hamatora

TBA

ReHamatora

Second season of Hamatora which apparently ended with a To Be Continued. I hate endings like those, but I have not seen the first season of Hamatora so I will withhold my judgement. Anyways obviously since I haven’t watched the first season I will not watch this, but if anybody has heard good things about the 1st season tell me about it. I do like the art style and I want to find a reason to start watching it.


Rokujouma no Shinryakusha!?

Silver Link

rokujyoma

Due to young Koutarou’s financial circumstances, he is forced to live in a small rokujouma (6-tatami apartment) on a budget of 5000 yen a month. On the plus side, he lives rent-free, but on the minus side, that’s because room 106 of Corona Apartments is cursed. The ghost is a cute young girl, and hijinks ensue when she tries to drive him out. Between the haunting, Koutarou’s nosy neighbors, and a self-styled magical girl flying to the unneeded rescue, there’s way too much for the impoverished young man to handle.

The Season’s harem show. I am very skeptical that this show is any good and unless anime friends of mine say otherwise I will continue to believe that this is just your average harem show. The art is decent but not great, and the PV showcased that perfectly. All I have to say is don’t expect too much.


Sabagebu

Studio Pierrot

Sabagebu

Middle school girl Momoka is dragged into joining one of the strangest associations at her school, the Survival Game Club. Its members participate in various forms of paramilitary training under the watchful eye of charming and alarming president, Miou. How on Earth will the inexperienced Momoka survive her training, let alone Miou’s company?!

Jeez this section is really just a bunch of mediocre shows in my opinion. Hopefully we can get to one that is more interesting soon. If you enjoyed Girls Und Panzer and stuff like that I would watch this but otherwise I would stay away. Girls with military genre generally doesn’t mix well with cute girls doing cute things that well.


Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance

TNK

big_thumb_59dd207b6ea9c621686bf0133ea2d4c9

Only a pure maiden can have the privilege to contract with a spirit. In here, Areishia Spirit Academy, trained maidens of noble families are gathered and given an elite’s education to become spirit contractors. A boy, Kamito, peeped by accident at a girl, Clair, while she was taking a bath and he ended up making a contract with the spirit she wanted. Yes, Kamito is an irregular boy spirit contractor whose existence was thought impossible until now. “You stole…my spirit…you have to take responsibility for it!” “Huh?” “You have to become my contracted spirit!” What will Kamito’s destiny lead to?

These pictures are not an accurate representation of the actual artwork of the show, but still with the synopsis the gist of the show gets across in my opinion. The trailer song is pretty catchy but as I dislike the harem genre I probably won’t watch it. It looks better quality than Rokujouma Shinryakusha!? but isn’t saying very much.


Sengoku Basara Judge End

Telecom Animation Film

senbasajudgeend

Another video game adaptation added to the list. It is based on Capcom’s popular game Samurai Heroes, a game that I have never heard of or played. The artwork is noteworthy for this show as you can tell from this great black and white image above. This will even be broadcast on Crunchy Roll so you can watch it legally. Out of all the video game adaptations this season, Sengoku Basara seems the most suited to be an anime and probably will be the most entertaining. It is not really type of show though and I will not be taking time to watch it.


Shirogane no Ishi Argevollen

Xebec

Shirogane no Ishi Argevollen

This show is lacking a synopsis so I checked out the trailer to see how it might go. The show seems very Gundam like. I admire the style of mecha the main character had but the rest just seemed lacking in impact. I also do not like the “plug suits” they wear when they go into the mecha, it looks just like armor you would wear into battle with infantry rather than a high tech suit that helps you pilot a giant robot. I am expecting an average show out of this too, and will wait for my mecha obsessed friend to watch it before checking it out myself.


Shounen Hollywood -Holly Stage for 49-

Zexcs

Shounen Hollywood -Holly Stage for 49-

Male Idol Group? I think that’s what it is. I expect a lot of Yaoi innuendos + whatever normal idol shows will do. Probably some man service will be added in as well. Maybe they will have nipples unlike Free! I don’t know how to feel about this show, but I am fairly certain I will not be watching it.


Space☆Dandy 2

Bones

dandy2_header

I really need to watch Space Dandy as I am quite a big fan of Shinichiro Watanabe’s works such as Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo. I was hesitant to watch it when it was released because of its exaggerated style that I tend to stay away from. I have heard good things about the 1st season and am sure the quality will continue into the second as it always has with Watanabe’s direction.


Sword Art Online II

A-1 Pictures

sao2

1 year after the SAO incident, Kirito is approached by Seijiro Kikuoka from Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Department “VR Division” with a rather peculiar request.

That was an investigation on the “Death Gun” incident that occurred in the gun and steel filled VRMMO called Gun Gale Online (GGO). “Players who are shot by a mysterious avatar with a jet black gun lose their lives even in the real world…” Failing to turn down Kikuoka’s bizarre request, Kirito logs in to GGO even though he is not completely convinced that the virtual world could physically affect the real world.

Kirito wanders in an unfamiliar world in order to gain any clues about the “Death Gun.” Then, a female sniper named Sinon who owns a gigantic “Hecate II” rifle extends Kirito a helping hand. With Sinon’s help, Kirito decides to enter the “Bullet of Bullets,” a large tournament to choose the most powerful gunner within the realm of GGO, in hopes to become the target of the “Death Gun” and make direct contact with the mysterious avatar.

I have a lot to say about the Sword Art Online franchise. First let it be known that I have read all of the light novels and know whats going to happen. I really respect the author for being able to publish the novel and get an anime at the early age of 14 (I think he is 16 now? or something?), but just because I respect his writing doesn’t mean I think it is very good. His characters are the farthest thing from real people like many other anime characters and the most difficult thing to relate with. Kirito’s inability to fail ever combined with every girl he ever meets is attracted to his dick makes it hard to sympathize that he is trapped in a death game, and has trauma from it going into the second arc. Also the transition of Asuna in the second arc into a damsel in distress really irked me. Do not get me wrong, there are a lot of things going for this anime, particularly the production values. The music and animation really make this show what it is, but every time I hear endless praise of Sword Art Online, I cringe. Sword Art Online is a fun show that entertains but doesn’t hold any themes that are explored throughout the series to provoke contemplation. Expect the same from the second season.


Tokyo ESP

Xebec

Tokyo ESP

Urushiba Rinka was a fairly normal high school girl, though she was a bit poor and her only family was her father. Then one day, she saw a penguin and some glowing fish swimming through the sky. Rinka might have thought it was a hallucination if there hadn’t been another witness with her, a boy from her school with a strangely scratched-up face.

Contact with a fish caused her to pass out, and when she awoke, she had developed the power to move through inanimate objects… such as the floor of her apartment! Later, a call from her father showed her that she was not the only one the flying fish bestowed with hard-to-control superpowers! What exactly is going on here? And does Rinka’s classmate know more about this situation than he’s letting on?

The art work for this show is really impressing me for some reason. Maybe its just because I like penguins and pandas, but lets just say its for an unknown reason. I really don’t know what to expect from this show except some comedy. The super power has been done before but I will watch to see how its used in this anime as it seems interesting. I tend to like the anime Xebec creates such as Busou Renkin and Love Hina.


Tokyo Ghoul

Studio Pierrot

tokyo_ghoul__kaneki_ken_by_no1412-d75n9uu

I believe that anime as a medium just does not fit horror very well. At least from what I have seen of Horror genres in anime it just doesn’t scare you at all. The animated look just makes it hard for fear to be instilled. Will this horror show be the one to break the mold? I doubt it. The main character having the eye patch like the girl in Another doesn’t want to make me watch it either, but there are only a few horror anime each year and I really want to see one actually be horrifying. I will check out the first few episodes to see how it goes. If I am not terrified I will drop it.


Zankyou no Terror

MAPPA

Zankyou-no-Terror-730x458

In an alternate version of the present, Tokyo has been decimated by a shocking terrorist attack, and the only hint to the identity of the culprit is a bizarre video uploaded to the internet. The police, baffled by this cryptic clue, are powerless to stop the paranoia spreading across the population.

While the world searches for a criminal mastermind to blame for this tragedy, two mysterious children—children who shouldn’t even exist—masterfully carry out their heinous plan. Cursed to walk through this world with the names Nine and Twelve, the two combine to form “Sphinx,” a clandestine entity determine to wake the people from their slumber–and pull the trigger on this world.

Psychological thrillers in anime are either very good or very bad. I don’t think I have seen one that is just average before. Trailer one didn’t really reveal much, but I enjoyed the song in trailer 2. I am hoping its a mix of Death Note and Psycho-Pass. Death note for the investigation part and Psycho-pass for questioning morality. I will probably end up watching all of this show even if its bad because my friend and I are watching it together.


3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Summer Season Part 2

      • I suppose that’s true. Of course I may be a bit cynical given the fact that last few seasons have been sort of dry. I’d love to see a hidden gem that doesn’t have to be hyped to win over the fan-base. I hope to see an anime that gets buy strictly on its storytelling and style.

        Like

Leave a Reply

