Thoughts on Summer Season Part 1

As the Spring Season of anime comes to a close, I have a lot of episodes saved up to marathon. I am going to marathon Ping Pong, Chuunibyou season 2, and finish the last couple episodes of Mushishi Zoku Shou. But with the end of one season comes the beginning of the next, and though the Summer and Winter seasons are generally smaller than the Spring and Fall seasons there are still some shows to generate hype. Because there is so many shows, movies, and OVAs being released nowadays I am going to split this into 3 parts.

 

Akame ga Kill

White Fox

akame-ga-kiru-3983895

So I have read the manga up to the most recently translated chapters, and I have to say I am not impressed. Akame ga Kill about a boy named Tatsumi that ends up getting recruited by a group of assassins. Though they may be assassins it seems they have good intentions and throughout the story their goals becomes clear. Reading through most of the manga I found that I do not get attached to any of the characters in particular and have no emotion for when they are harmed or killed. The primary reason why this is true is that each of the characters are made of the most stereotypical tropes with no particular reason why they became that way been shown. The development of the characters as actually people is minimal and they constantly show characters that have “tragedy” in their past to invoke sympathy from the audience. Perhaps they will be able to change that aspect for me in the animated version of the story, but I have yet to see White Fox convert bad source material into a good anime. I will not watch this series unless I get recommendations from my other anime friends that check it out.


 Aldnoah.Zero

A-1 Pictures

aldnoah.Zero

I do not know too much about this series, but I did check out the trailer for it. The music was pretty exciting, sounding a lot like Hollywood action movie trailers nowadays. From watching the trailer it feels very Gundam-esque. Normally I would brush off this show and wait for my Mecha obsessed friends to watch it and get their opinions, but Aldnoah.Zero was written by Gen Urobuchi. The same writer that wrote the compelling stories of Madoka Magica, Fate/Zero,  and Psycho-Pass.  I enjoyed each of the shows he has written to varying degrees but in the end I did not regret watching any of them. So in respect to the writer Gen Urobuchi I will be watching this show from the day the first episode will be released on July 6.


 Ao Haru Ride

Production I.G.

Ao.Haru.Ride.full.945231

“Yoshioka Futaba has a few reasons why she wants to “reset” her image & life as a new high school student. Because she’s cute, she was ostracized by her female friends in junior high, and because of a misunderstanding, she couldn’t get her feeling across to the one boy she has ever liked, Tanaka-kun.

Now in high school, she is determined to be as unladylike as possible so that her friends won’t be jealous of her. While living her life this way contentedly, she meets Tanaka-kun again, but he now goes under the name of Mabuchi Kou. He tells her that he felt the same way as she did when they were younger, but now things can never be the same again. Will Futaba be able to continue her love that never even started from three years ago?”

I am a sucker for a good Shoujo romance. When I looked at this I was kind of excited because I haven’t actually watched a Shoujo anime on a weekly bases in a long time, but after reading the synopsis I am skeptical. First of all her goal in high school is to be “as unladylike as possible” because her friends won’t be jealous of her? I cannot imagine anyone in real life going into high school trying to make themselves less cute. I guess they are trying to make her likable by portraying that she would rather have friends than be cute, but I find it hard to believe. I might try a few episodes of this to see if I like it, but definitely not trying to get my hopes too high.


 

Bakumatsu Rock

Studio Deen

bakamatsu

“The story is set in the Bakumatsu era, at the end of the shoguns’ rule over Japan in the middle of the 19th century. The Tokugawa shogunate uses the brainwashing Heaven’s Songs by the top idols in Shinsengumi to subjugate the country and its people. In this Japan, writing or singing any songs besides the Heaven’s Songs is a capital offense. Sakamoto Ryouma and the other rockers rise up and change the world with rock ‘n’ roll for freedom and justice.”

This anime is an adaptation from a game also called Bakamatsu Rock. A rhythm game for the PSP that I have never played and do not know much about, but what I do know is that I have never been impressed by a video game adaptation, excluding visual novels if you count those as video games. Also the style of the anime just screams over the top comedy scenes, and I do not like that in anime generally, with the exception of Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure. Due to that fact I will not watch this, but hopefully I might find a few songs I like from this anyways through youtube.


Barakamon

Kinema Citrus

pv2-barakamon

“As a punishment for punching a famous Calligrapher, young handsome Calligrapher Handa Seishu is exiled on a small island. As someone who has never lived outside of a city, Handa has to adapt to his new wacky neighbors, like people traveling on a tractor, unwanted visitors who never use the front door, annoying kids using his home as a playground, etc. Can this city guy handle all the crazy hardships? Find out in this wacky island comedy full of innocence and laughter!!!”

I tend to appreciate slice of life humor more than the exaggerated or crude humor. Things like Yotsuba or Azumanga Daioh come to mind. Hopefully this will be able to mimic their type of comedy because the little girl shown in the PV reminds me of Yotsuba and Chiyo. Also I have some interest in Calligraphy so maybe I will get to learn about it and how it relates to the Japanese culture in this show. I know I am expecting a lot, but I have to disappointed in at least a couple shows each season. I will watch the first few episodes and feel it out.


Bishouji Senshi : Sailor Moon Crystal

Toei Animation

sailorMoon

Sailor Moon, one of the monumental magical girls show that defined the genre. A monumental anime that I have yet to watch all the way through and probably never will. If you are a fan of Sailor Moon check it out, if not then skip by it. I will be watching a few episodes to see if I can get into the show this time.


DRAMAtical Murder

NAZ

DRAMAtical.Murder.full.1030738

“The story takes place many years in the future where the game “Rhyme,” a virtual fighting game, is incredibly popular and people possess “AllMates,” convenient AI computers. Aoba leads an ordinary life, working at a junk shop and living with his grandmother on the island of Midorijima. Unlike his friends, he doesn’t participate in Rhyme, nor does he belong in a gang. However, when rumors of people disappearing spread, Aoba finds himself needing to unravel the mysteries behind the island in order to protect his everyday life.”

Another Video Game adaptation. If you are reading this all the way through then you know how I feel about that, probably going to be subpar. When researching this anime I also found out that this game was based on Yaoi / Boys Love as when I googled the show I was shown various men having sex. Though I have nothing against it, I do not find it very entertaining generally so I am going to stay away from this show. At least from looking at the trailer it has a cute dog that has Google glass built into his eyes.


Fate/kaleid liner  Prsima☆Illya 2wei!

Silver Link

fate.kaleid

I really dislike most spin offs of anime, as they ruin the integrity of the shows related to it. The first season of this is a great example, and though it is not truly canon, it is difficult to enjoy it when it is in the same fate world. Seeing as this is a second season of the spin off if you enjoyed the first season then definitely check it out. For those who haven’t watched it yet and are on the fence, I recommend not to watch it and I will not be either.


Free! Eternal Summer

Kyoto Animation

FREE

Another second season you know the drill. Watch it if you liked the first season. Now I am going to use this time to say that though I do not really dislike this show I cannot watch it due to one reason. I was a competitive swimmer from childhood all the way through high school and I took it super seriously. When I watch Free! so many of the technical aspects of the sport were wrong and though I know its not true I felt like the show was belittling my sacred sport. I wish I could enjoy it like I did Kuroko no Basket as they are the same style of show, but I just cannot.


Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

Feel

Locodol_key

I do not know much about Idol shows as I tend to stay away from them. So as for the quality of this one? I do not know, but it definitely looks like it has quite a few comedic aspects from this picture with the fish and girl in the bikini dressed in costume. I will again stay away from these types of shows but if idol shows are your thing go for it. It looks like this one will focus on 2 idols rather than others which have large groups of idols. I probably would enjoy this one more than Love Live due to more time spent on each individual character just due to the difference in the amount of main characters.


Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

Dogakobo

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

“Sakura Chiyo confesses to her crush, Nozaki-kun, but he mistakes her as a fan! Unable to convey her feelings, what happens when he invites her to his house? Find out in this hilarious series!”

Another romance? Another chance for me to be disappointed in a show. I had my hopes up at the beginning but then I saw the genre tags and its a Shounen directed toward young males. Generally romances that fall under this category devolve into either harems or an anime with lots of fan service. Two things that I do not enjoy that much from my truly romance genres. Only a few can pull off the harem well, and well timed fan service that actually serves a purpose is even more rare to find. Hopefully this will surprise me with something else as I will watch a couple episodes.


Glasslip

P.A. Works

glasslip

Just looking at the artwork of the show so far it looks promising. After watching the PV it really reminds me of Hanasaku Iroha as that was also made by P.A. works and it has the same vibes and vibrant colors. Shout out to Nintey’s Blog for introducing me to Hanasaku Iroha by the way. A Glass Artisan is an interesting occupation and I look forward to learning more about it through this show. Obviously if its just the technical aspects of it, it will be boring, so I also wish for endearing characters that really inspire me to work hard too. Even if the plot and characters let me down there is always the animation which is proven to be quite impressive. Just look at this second PV.


Hanamonogatari

Shaft

Hanamonogatari

I was really hoping this would be released in the Spring season, but as it was delayed to air on Aug 16, I will have to wait quite a bit longer. Suruga was missing from most Monogatari : Second Season and as she is my 3rd favorite girl behind Senjougahara and Mayoi. The hype for this arc is building and it better be good if they are spending all this extra time to produce it. Hopefully Suruga will able to deal with her problems with self loathing and actually able to change herself rather than constantly lie to herself by acting as a sweet person on the outside. Like most girls in the Monogatari series now, she realizes her problem but has yet to confront it like Hanekawa and to an extent Senjougahara. I am super excited for this arc and as an avid Monogatari watcher will of course be watching every episode.


Hanayamata

Madhouse Studios

hanayamata-manga-1

I have to say this trailer was quite disappointing. They did not show off the animation or anything and because I don’t understand Japanese yet the jokes were lost on me. From the images I have seen the animation looks energetic and radiant, which was an obvious choice considering the main plot point is Yosakoi Dance. What I know of Yosakoi Dance and the images shown so far tells me we will see many different yukatas on the girls. The art is definitely the selling point for this show and one thing is certain, cute girls doing cute things is confirmed. Again I am going to watch the first few episodes and see how it goes. Move on to other shows moe haters, just more cute girls for me.


Jinsei

Feel

jinsei

“Yuuki Akamatsu, who is in the Kyuumon Gakuen Second News Club, is asked to become the counselor of the club immediately after joining the club by Ayaka Nikaidou, the club leader. Three girls currently give advice to issues sent in by the students: Rino Endou from the science stream, Fumi Kujou from the literary stream, and Ikumi Suzuki from the sports stream. However, the three always have different opinions and cannot get their views to agree, so they just try things out anyway…”

I really have no information on this anime. The art style does not appeal to me as much as Hanayamata does and since I  have failed to learn anything else about this anime other than it is being created Feel which is also creating the idol show this season. I am just going to not watch it and wait for feedback from my fellow anime watchers on the internet.


Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus

blackButler

I have not seen a single episode of Black Butler in my life. Nor do I have the interest to do so the near future. Again this is a sequel so if you liked the previous installments then watch this one too. Though I am sure I do not have to tell you that.


Love Stage!!

J.C. Staff

LoveStage

“With a father who’s a singer, a mother who’s a movie star, and an older brother Shougo who’s the lead vocalist for the super-popular band “The Crusherz,” Sena Izumi—an otaku college student—is the only dull one born into this super-famous and talented family. He loves “Magical Girl LalaLulu” and is working hard to become a mangaka, but one day he winds up appearing in a TV commercial he just can’t turn down. There, he’s reunited with Ichijou Ryouma, the super-popular young actor he costarred with on a project ten years prior.”

Yaoi Fan girls (and guys) rejoice. This is your time to mature from the innuendos of Kuroko no Basket and Free! into the actual acts! The acts that will probably not show up in the anime, but if you are unsatisfied the manga definitely has sex scenes because when I was finding a picture for this many of them showed up. Tried watching Junjou Romantica but became bored and dropped it. Easy series to tell if you want to watch it. If you like boys love watch it otherwise I wouldn’t waste your time. I know I won’t be wasting mine.


 

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Summer Season Part 1

  1. Hey! I was just wondering where you get all those anime seasons stuff from? I would love to check out the site myself. Or did you pick them out yourself?
    How often and how much do anime do you watch anime? Just wondering. =) I find it awesome how there are people who have watched all these bunch of anime. I mean with manga, I might have read a lot, but anime I only properly started this year. Before it was only Pokémon as a childhood favourite. Lol.

    Like

    • Most anime are released in cycles where they start at the beginning of a season. Depending on the length of the show they will either end during that season or run onto the next ones. In the case of super long anime they usually start at the beginning of a season but take breaks whenever they want. I personally use anichart.net to look at what new anime is upcoming in the next season. Though sometimes I found out about the show because of an announcement through other sources.

      I have watched quite a bit of anime so far, but nowadays I do not marathon as often as I used too. I just watch anime when I am in the mood for it which can vary from just 1 episode to 20 in one day. If you want to see what I am watching or already have watched I use MyAnimeList to track it. Here is the link to my list http://myanimelist.net/animelist/Ruse

      Like

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on Summer Season Part 2 | Dang Tran Dynasty

Leave a Reply

