Day 17 – Favorite Supporting Male Anime Character

Every anime where the main protagonist is male and in high school, he has a male friend that is usually humorous in nature. Whether he is perverted, or makes puns he generally is always a good friend that puts the main character first and helps with his problems. I actually hate this character in most cases. Sometimes it is done well, but more often than not I am bored when they are on screen and the jokes they are a part of become repetitive after the first couple of times. So for me all those characters aren’t even in the running!

Since I watch quite a bit of slice of life anime there aren’t many interesting supporting male anime characters left. And out of those I do not admire any one in particular more than the others, but I guess if I had to choose I would pick Kamina from Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann.

Kamina_wallpaper

“Don’t believe in yourself. Believe in me! Believe in the Kamina who believes in you!”

I actually just watched Gurren Lagann recently and it kind of reminds me of a life coach yelling in your ear that you can do it. The message is clear and is stated repeatedly and in over the top ways. Humans have endless potential, and you can accomplish anything if you believe in yourself. I generally hate over the top action that can’t be taken seriously, but the exaggerated way of fighting is integral to how the message is conveyed in this show.

Kamina ends up being the symbol of confidence in Gurren Lagann and teaches those around him to believe in themselves, and by watching him you end up doing the same.

2 thoughts on “Day 17 – Favorite Supporting Male Anime Character

  1. Pingback: Day 18 – Favorite Supporting Female Anime Character | Dang Tran Dynasty

  2. Pingback: Complete 30 Day Anime Challenge | Dang Tran Dynasty

Leave a Reply

