Day 12 – Saddest Anime Scene

30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 12

Sad scenes in anime tend to taste bittersweet. They are sad but generally the characters involved learn something in life that will help them move forward. For example Takaki Tohno from 5 Centimeters Per Second as he walks across the train tracks as an adult in the town where he grew up, He sees the mirage of his former love. Turning to wait for the train to pass and see her again, He looks back. The two trains pass and no one is on the other side. He turns, smiles, and walks away, ready to let go of his past and live  his life.

To me, scenes like these are actually quite happy, and should not be considered when trying to find the saddest anime scene. After I eliminated all of the bittersweet scenes from the anime I have seen, I realized there were no scenes left! So I had to reconsider. Sending my brain back in time to my former self  to use my Magi super computer, I have carefully come to conclusion that the saddest anime scene is within Tsumiki no Ie (La Maison en Petits Cubes).

tsumikiNoie

Tsumiki no Ie is a short film lasting 12 minutes about an elderly man who lives in a town that is submerged in water. The water level continues to rise as he builds his house upward to keep on living. He drops a precious item in the water and descends using scuba diving gear to retrieve it. As he descends down his water immersed home, he recalls the memories of his past. Using a picture book style and a french musical theme, Tsumiki no Ie is the most memorable short film I have ever seen.

In the last scene, the elderly man is seen raising a glass at a fancy home dinner, reenacting a toast with his wife who has long since passed away.  I believe this is the saddest scene of all, because though he is reminiscing the past and enjoying his life now, he is still alone. A bittersweet memory of what has passed, but is still remembered.

3 thoughts on “Day 12 – Saddest Anime Scene

    • You should definitely check it out! Since it is only 12 minutes it is not much of a commitment compared to most shows.

      I considered Clannad for this spot too, but I really dislike the style of most visual novel adaptations. When it came to Afterstory the ending just did not sit well with me. After playing through the visual novel it made more sense, but I do not think the light orbs were thoroughly explored in the anime.

      As for Trigun, I am planning on picking that one up the next time I am in the mood for action!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Complete 30 Day Anime Challenge | Dang Tran Dynasty

Leave a Reply

