Day 8 – My Favorite Anime Couple

30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 8

Anime couples are always awkward to watch for me because they are usually very innocent and melodramatic, where the romance is just an extra component of the plot. The two characters have this tension between them and for more generic shows they are both oblivious to the others feelings. Which end up causing misunderstandings and “situations” that are generally comedic in nature. When asked reasons why they love each other they spout routine characteristics that one would find in their ideal mate. Cute, funny, nice, or the worst one of all where they just say he/she just makes my heart race. With anime couples you do not really feel the emotion behind their actions because it is underplayed through comedic shenanigans.

For serious romances, either nothing happens for a long time, or everything is done super quickly. Serious romance anime couples vary in quality a lot due to the presentation of the show, and often have some gimmick like the unpopular girl/guy with the the Idol of the school. Typically I enjoy these better, because when I am in the mood for romance I want a pure version of it. For me my favorite anime couple is Holo and Lawrence from Spice and Wolf.

spiceandWolf

Happily enough for me Holo and Lawrence’s love is not just teenage sexual tension. They play off each other so well and you can really feel the love grow between them throughout the series. Spice and Wolf has its gimmick that Holo is a God of harvest, while Lawrence is just a traveling peddler, but for me the story really shines when it expresses the loneliness that all humans have and how Lawrence and Holo use each other to fill that void. They still have comedic shenanigans now and then, but I can forgive it due to how well they executed it and how it actually helps the development of the relationship.  I wish Spice and Wolf had a 3rd season.

We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.” – Orson Welles

 

4 thoughts on “Day 8 – My Favorite Anime Couple

  1. A good pick. I really enjoyed Spice and Wolf and would be happy if they animated another season. On the plus side they are translating the novels. My picks for shows with good couples would have to be Clannad and Sword Art Online.

    Like

      • I have read two of the light novels, but to be honest I much preferred the anime adaptation.

        One of the books I read was a collection of short stories, which includes a prequel tale of Holo travelling with some runaway kids. I also read the book that directly follows season 2. Not much happened aside from a river journey. Instead of heading towards Holo’s home they backtrack in pursuit of the woman who conned Lawrence.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Complete 30 Day Anime Challenge | Dang Tran Dynasty

Leave a Reply

