Day 4 – Favorite Female Anime Character Ever

30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 4

In comparison to male anime characters there are not as many interesting female characters. Often times in anime female characters lacks depth and pander to the audience using already established tropes. So much so that there are many different names for them such as tsundere, kuudere and yandere to name a few. Most of them contain the word dere which means cute in Japanese. These characters are often defined by their trope and do not have a reason as why they are became like that in the first place. Of course there are exceptions to the rule, and Asuka Langley Soryu from Neon Genesis Evangelion (NGE) is one of them.

asukaBlog

Before watching Neon Genesis Evangelion I really disliked tsundere characters (with the exception of Haruhi). I did not see the appeal of violent women that hit you for things that you couldn’t change, or even if you did something nice for them. Though I still stand by those points when characters like Asuka appear with a more understandable reason for acting aggressive I can empathize with them more and actually want them to succeed and overcome their obstacles.

I resonate especially with Asuka since I also have a inferiority superiority complex and am unable to convey my feelings well. Luckily I do not lash out as much as she does. These shared characteristics that allow me to connect to Asuka and my love of outwardly confident women makes Asuka my favorite female anime character. It helps that I love her character design too!

asukaSexy

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 4 – Favorite Female Anime Character Ever

  1. Pingback: Day 7 – My Anime Crush | 2-DLife

  2. Pingback: Day 11 – Favorite Mech Anime | 2-DLife

  3. Pingback: Complete 30 Day Anime Challenge | Dang Tran Dynasty

Leave a Reply

