Miyazaki’s Musical Monday 7

princessmononoke

If you have been keeping up with the latest anime new you may have already heard that Hayao Miyazaki has announced his retirement. The iconic director that created the Ghibli masterpieces that are, Howl’s Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke, and Spirited Away. So to pay tribute for the many works he has blessed us with, today’s musical Monday will be based on my favorite work directed by Miyazaki, Princess Mononoke.

This is my favorite piece, from the movie, and contains the most moving violins I have ever heard in an orchestra in my life. One of the things on my bucket list is to watch this be performed live. Sadly that will probably never happen. It begins with a prophetic tone of whats to come, before the violin’s erupt with their vibrant sound. Each instrument of the orchestra comes together, as if representing how beautiful nature is, and how it miraculously becomes a system which all life is intertwined. Joe Hisaishi, composer for most of Miyazaki’s films, always does a great job, but I believe this is his best work.

Here is a small playlist with some of the other songs in Princess Mononoke. So this is my small tribute to the amazing Hayao Miyazaki, I am not capable of truly giving the due respect for his ingenuity and genius. I believe I truly fell in love in anime after seeing this movie, though I did not understand the true concepts and themes at the time, its genius is that it appeals to everyone. Even the young child I once was, to who I am today.

Hayao-Miyazaki-hayao-miyazaki-410132_935_605

Thank you Miyazaki. May your life be full of joy and peace.

 

*DISCLAIMER* All images / videos used above are property of their rightful owners! If I have offended anyone or if you want to request to remove anything e-mail me at andrewdt1506@gmail.com and I will remove them.

2 thoughts on “Miyazaki’s Musical Monday 7

Leave a Reply

